2012 Award Recipients

Awards programs have been a part of the history of the club since the early days. The longest lasting, and most well known award, has been the club’s “Public Service to Agriculture Award” which was started in 1967 and continues yet today. This year marks the first year of the “New Horizon Award”.

2012 Award Recipients

Lisa Lunz, and her husband, Jim farm north of Wakefield, Nebraska raising no-till corn and soybeans.  Lisa is a graduate of the University of Nebraska College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources and a member of LEAD XVII. Lisa is serving her final term on the Nebraska Soybean Board with a total of 12 years served.  She has served as the research committee chairman, secretary and the Board chairman from 2010-2011.  In addition, Lunz is the Soybean Board representative to U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance and the Alliance for the Future of Agriculture in Nebraska (A-FAN) communications committee.  Throughout the years, Lisa has often shown her passion for youth and agriculture education.  She has served as her community 4-H leader and involved with the Soybean educators, Ag Sack Lunch program, UNL Soybean research projects, CommonGround, and Ag Pen Pals.  In addition, Lisa is very involved with the Wakefield School Board and her church.  Lisa and Jim are also the proud parents of three children: Kristina, a recent graduate of Doane College;, Keri, a sophomore at Midland College; and Jacob, a senior at Wakefield High School.

Alan Tiemann, and his wife Lori, became the second generation to return to production agriculture when he began farming with his parents in 1978. Alan is fortunate to have their son, Dan, and his wife Casey, return to the farm making it three active generations of Tiemann’s farming together.  Their operation is a row crop farm raising corn and soybeans.  Alan began his career in public service to agriculture serving on the Seward Farmers Cooperative and Ruby Farmers Cooperative Board of Directors from 1986 to 1994.  He has also served on the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board, serving as president from 2001 and 2002.  Tiemann also represented the Board on the U.S. Grains Council Executive Committee.  In 2003, he began his current tenure on the Nebraska Corn Board. Alan was elected by his peers to serve an unprecedented three terms as Chairman of the Board. Alan again returned to activity on the U.S. Grains Council’s action teams, and was elected to serve on the Board of Directors from 2006 to 2012.  In addition to their son Dan, Alan and Lori also have a son, Brian, who is employed as an architect in Chicago.

Dawn Caldwell, her husband Matt and two children farm in Edgar Nebraska on the family farm passed down from Matt’s grandfather.  Half of their farm is devoted to row crops and farmed with Matt’s brother, and the other half to pasture for their cattle.  Dawn received an Animal Science Degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1994, and is a member of LEAD CLASS XXIV.  Currently Dawn works as the communications manager for the Aurora Coop, previously holding the position of livestock specialist for the Coop.  Prior to her time at the Coop, Dawn worked for the University of Nebraska Extension service for three years before taking a job with an independent feed company.  Dawn is involved in the Alliance for the Future of Agriculture in Nebraska, a CommonGround Nebraska spokeswoman and volunteer, a member of the Nebraska Beef Council Board of Directors and active in the Red Angus Association of America.

See previous honorees here.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.